Rat tools

This is the place to ask questions about specific tools. Please search for other questions about your subject before you post a new one... it may already be here. Also, please include pictures if possible to make identification easier.
Forum rules
Please make sure you've read the Rules and Etiquette Page, which spells out the rules and guidelines of this forum.
snapmom

Rat tools

Post by snapmom »

This is from a Snap on service parts list (I think dealers cat) dated 1960. I have not seen these tools, so if anyone has some please give me a holler.
L P Burrow
Your Location: Corinth, Tx

Re: Rat tools

Post by L P Burrow »

I read your post with interest. I was a dealer and field manager for 27 years with Snap on and this is the first time I have seen this list of repair tools. After looking through my tools, I found a G-451 and G-671 that were given to me in the early 1970s. I found that the G-451 was not needed, I just hit the drive wheel to seat the bushing. The embossing tool, G-671, was difficult to "crimp" the socket retaining ball in place. The tools were hardened to the point that I was unable to use it. I would just use a center punch to put a dimple on the edge to hold the new ball in place.
snapmom

Post by snapmom »

I never thought of seating the bushing that way, I have always used a brass punch, but your way would work much better. Snap on sells a tool, the SPP-744 for a couple of bucks shipped, which is a great help in setting your spring and ball. If you are interested in selling your two rat tools, I would be interested. Do they just have the model number, and no name?
L P Burrow
Your Location: Corinth, Tx

Post by L P Burrow »